Jack Goes Boating, sights and songs

This film marks Philip Seymour Hoffman’s directorial debut.

Hoffman always plays some pretty dominant characters, this film is no exception. It’s not a funny film but there’s definitely a dynamic humour to it. I like how real the film is, there’s a lot of pain, love and humanity to this film. A really significant reason why this film is so human is because it was originally written as a stage play that was later translated to film.

It’s kind of refreshing to go from stage as opposed to book. I feel like most films were a book and I assume in birthing an idea from a book the ideas brush off very differently than if they were drawn from a stage play.

I like the simplicity of this film. A simplicity that other P.S.H. films couldn’t even begin to dream about.

I also really like how the characters are not perfect, completely awkward. Wehn I first start seeing someone I feel like a complete clutz, never a smooth moment. I feel like Jack Goes Boating really captures the flaws and flops of meeting someone new. Similar to the way Garden State and Beginners captured the humanity in their characters.

I love the songs that were used in this film. Hip, current music like Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear and Cat Power. I really hate that I’m an “indie rock” girl, I’d really like to prize myself as being more musically out of the box, but in all truth, that’s really my niche.

Leave a Reply

