Sandro Perri with Bry Webb and Ryan Driver at Ebar; Thursday November 10, 2011

Ryan Driver opened up the gig with his tremendously warm sound. Stumbled in a bit through his set, so I didn’t actually get the full scope of his sound. I’ve seen him play in Sandro Perri’s band a few times and have heard heaps about his creative ability. All things considered, his solo sound is really conventional for all of his different outlets.

Bry Webb is the lead singer of the Constantines, he played a set just on his own. For such a big artist, he seems to support  a lot of lesser known acts. The crowd, I could tell was largely there for Bry Webb. People dwindled out for Perri’s set just after his. I was surprised by how well his voice fit with just an acoustic guitar. See for yourself:

I just saw Sandro Perri a few months ago with Andre Ethier at the Horseshoe. It was a really great stretch that I was able to see him because I had just finished up at the Wilco show and managed to hop over to the Horseshoe with good time to spare. It was at this show that I fell in love with his song “Wolfman” – a ten minute lush tune.

I had a moment when I was dipping into Neil Young’s album On The Beach listening to the opening track, “Walk On.” I immediately had a flash back to Perri’s tune “Wolfman” for the guitar bit in the chorus (of both songs). I however had only heard Perri’s tune once and I couldn’t remember where I recognised the sound from. I eventually figured it out and had no opportunity to listen to the Sandro Perri song. It was only in the last week or two was I able to listen to it via the Constellation record label website, non-stop at that.

Another weird thing happened, for some reason, with Perri’s tune “Wolfman” after hearing Neil Young’s tune, I could only think of the words “I could love you.” For some reason those were the words I associated with the Perri tune I heard once. So, I found myself typing “I could love you lyrics” on Youtube to solve this big time mystery I had been suffering. At the show last Wednesday, he played an extra song at the end of his set called “I Could Love You,” a cover of a brilliant song originally done by John Martyn in the late ’70s. I think this was the song I was thinking about when I was trying to solve said mystery. “Wolfman” and Martyn’s “I Could Love You” actually sound pretty similar, musically.

Perri’s music has always been really complex and very layered, but his new album really shows a lush sound.

 

Leave a Reply

