‘Liberal Arts’ written and directed by Josh Radnor

I’m a huge How I Met Your Mother nut. So, when I heard that Josh Radnor, aka Ted Mosby was making a film a few years back I was filled with excitement. That film was the lovely, Happythankyoumoreplease featuring actor heavy weights – Tony Hale (Buster Bluth), Kate Mara (sister of Rooney, the tattoo dragon girl), Pablo Schreiber (brother of Liev), Canadian Malin Akerman and Zoe Kazan (granddaughter of the legendary Elias Kazan).

OK, so many Rador is more of a B-actor magnet, regardless, he gets quality folk that I thoroughly enjoy watching. I’m really happy to report that his new film, Liberal Arts features the lovely Elizabeth Olsen (sister of Mary-Kate and Ashley). It’s basically about a thirtysomething man who can’t find comfort in the world outside of academia. Something myself and my peers can definitely relate to!! It’s a love story, he meets Olsen’s character and they do their thing, problems and fun.

I gotta say, I like Radnor’s writing – it’s easy, humourous and completely accessible. He kind of takes the Woody Allen approach to cinema in that he casts himself in the best male characters in the film.

Liberal Arts was inspired by good literature, of them Radnor cited David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest. He stated “that book really messes you up… but read it.” I think I may take a cue and give it another go, it’s a complete marathon, but I hear it’s worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

