Jean-Marc Vallée ‘Café de flore’

Alright so I feel a little off the ball on this one, I hadn’t even heard of it until I was flipping through some best of 2011 lists, earlier this month.

Ages ago on whim I saw a little film called C.R.A.Z.Y. I think I was 16 or 17 when I saw it, one of the first films I saw at the Bloor Cinema. Café de flore was the second Jean-Marc Vallée I’ve seen regards him as “one of our most assured filmmakers.” Yikes. I really need to get on CanCon movie watchin’ here.

I felt a little distraught watching this film, I wasn’t sure what to feel. Basically, without spoiling it, there were two stories being told, one, a single mother and her son in the ’60s  à Paris et deux, a broken family trying to move on.

To be honest, after some serious internet searching, I’m still not sure what to feel, even being spoon fed. It’s pretty impressive that the film got a 100% fresh rating on Rotten Tomatoes.

All through the film:

Just marvelous, I gotta buy this album!!!

Well, it wasn’t in the film, but it’s remarkably beautiful. The gal did it in just two take, paid only £30 at the ripe age of twenty-two, her name`s Clare Torry:

Leave a Reply

