Brand New and Cursive at the Guelph Concert Theatre; Friday August 3, 2012

First off, let me take this opportunity to freak out !JK!LJKLFJKLA:JSFKLDS:FJKDSJF;kldskljfdjKL!!!! because Cursive, a day after I saw them, played an Osheaga after party playing their album ‘Domestica’ from start to finish.

Here’s a picture my friend Kurtis snapped of the gig:

Moving on, Cursive put on a good show as Brand New’s openers. It was obvious that the crowd didn’t really know their music. On the other side of things, maybe it was good they had positive endorsement from a band like Brand New with such a devoted fan base, a golden opportunity to adopt newer, younger fans. Being the luckiest gal in the world, I’ve seen Cursive play on two occasions this year. At their usual, Horseshoe Tavern haunts and in Guelph.

Comparing their two sets, this set was rockier with next to no chitter-chatter throughout the set. Lead singer Tim Kasher apparently had nothing to say. The set was dominated by hard rocking tunes with the exception of a few songs, of them notably was – “Driftwood: A Fairy Tale.” Surprisingly, the only played three tracks off of ‘The Ugly Organ’ – “Sierra” and “Art is Hard.”

I hope they made a few more fans off of this tour… I also hope they’ll continue to do headlining shows of their own at smaller venues, because that’s the way to see Cursive, a band who’s painfully honest and hardworking.

Brand New were good. I feel like they’ve reached a level of insane popularity selling out three Ontario dates!! They’ve seemed to established good rhythm in their sets, playing a few tunes off of each album, usually in blocks. I find myself completely ignorant to ‘Daisy’ tracks, although I did make the effort to purchase the album a few months back. I appreciate ‘The Devil and God Are Raging Within Me’ but my love really lies in their first two albums. With lyrics like “This isn’t high school” and “We’re gonna stay 18 forever…” I am completely nostalgic for both ‘Deja Entendu’ and ‘Your Favourite Weapon.’ Fortunately, Brand New still do dabble in the two albums. I was thrilled to hear these tunes all stacked together:

Tautou
Sic Transit Gloria (Glory Fades)
I Believe You But My Tommy Gun Don’t
The Boy Who Blocked His Own Shot
Jude Law and the Semester Abroad
Seventy Times Seven

That definitely made the show for me.

They played a few nods to Modest Mouse playing them at the beginning of the show and as an alternate ending of “The Boy Who Blocked His Own Shot.” They also nodded to Nirvana.

The last time I saw Brand New I went alone and had few expectations. I was rudely awakened when I found a huge sing-a-long and much rockier songs. I shouldn’t be very surprised, the last three times I’ve seen them, I felt the harder tunes. This time, I went with a Brand New-loving batch of friends who hung on to every word, putting myself to shame. The venue was hot as hell and we’d had a few pints. We were the obnoxiously loud singers, hopefully not spoiling the less-than-rowdy couple next to us.

No encore was played.

Leave a Reply

