tiff’12 take four: ‘Greetings from Tim Buckley’ directed by Dan Algrant

I’m not sure how I feel about biopics. Sometimes, I feel as though it’s a bit of a stretch and perhaps a display of flogging something people just can’t let go of. Perhaps this ain’t such a bad thing for an artist I think is all around, largely unappreciated – Jeff Buckley.

I first became aware of Buckley when I worked at the record store at the mall up my street. He was one of those artists that you’d heard about and were aware of and pretend to know in casual conversation. I quickly bought his album and made sure I knew the bare jist of who he was. I remember feeling distinctly surprised to find that the album had no female vocals, but just a hauntly beautiful falsetto that Buckley perfected. Over the years, I just learned to love the album beyond his bone chilling cover of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah.”

I even got the chills reading this bit from Wikipedia that famous musicians have said about Grace:

Grace won appreciation from a host of revered musicians and artists, including members of Buckley’s biggest influence, Led Zeppelin.[79] Jimmy Page considered Grace close to being his “favorite album of the decade”.[80] Robert Plant was also complimentary,[81] as was Brad Pitt, saying of Buckley’s work, “There’s an undercurrent to his music, there’s something you can’t pinpoint. Like the best of films, or the best of art, there’s something going on underneath, and there’s a truth there. And I find his stuff absolutely haunting. It just… it’s under my skin.”[82] Others who had influenced Buckley’s music lauded him:[83] Bob Dylan named Buckley “one of the great songwriters of this decade”,[81] and, in an interview with Village Voice, David Bowie named Grace as the one album he would take with him to a desert island.[84] The album eventually went on to feature in Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time in 2003, appearing at #303.[85]” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeff_buckley)

I’m pretty amazed to find that Gossip Girl guy, Penn Badgely is playing Jeff Buckley in this film. We’ll see how he sizes up.

If I only had speakers here, I could say a few bits more about this, but here’s a clip of Badgely playing Buckley’s rendition of “Lilac Wine.” The comments read well.

Image source (http://www.firstshowing.net/2011/penn-badgley-set-to-play-jeff-buckley-in-greetings-from-tim-buckley/)

2 thoughts on “tiff’12 take four: ‘Greetings from Tim Buckley’ directed by Dan Algrant

  1. Pingback: ‘Greetings from Tim Buckley’ |

Leave a Reply

