Coachella 2013: Jurassic 5

In 2006, I saw J5 play a tiny venue in Toronto called the Reverb. The dingy three-floor (?) venue has now become a Crate and Barrel, but I sure have some dynamite memories of the Big-Bop complex. My understanding it was an old dance-cave-like hangout for pop-rock folks wanting to dance… Who would’ve guessed?

I shot CB2’s tribute to the Big Bop when they opened back in early 2012.

OK but my point here is that I’m super stoked be able to see J5 again this April at Coachella! After listening to an 8tracks mix, I immediately recognised the deep voiced rapper Chali 2na.

Here are a few tunes and a mix that you may enjoy:

A Nelly Furtado collab, not sure how this happened:

Leave a Reply

