Coachella 2013 aftermath one: Grizzly Bear

I picked this as my first because I knew it’d be an easy gush.

Much to my surprise Grizzly Bear played one of the smaller, covered stages. I was able to find a close spot closer to stage left. To me it’s the perfect spot because I am able to see most of the band and the jumbo screen for when my eyes get tired, beyond that you can squeeze in at the very end to get a good shot.

Before Grizzly Bear took the stage, I met a bunch of really lovely people to enjoy the set with. We shared a great love for the band and had a few chuckles throughout the set on my big love for Grizzly Bear drummer Chris Bear.

The band played a good chunk, if not all of their brilliant release Shields they however made sure to play some old gems as well. I really enjoyed hearing “Knife,” “Ready, Able,” “While You Wait For The Others” and “On a Neck, On a Spit.”

Back in the fall of 2012, just after the release of Shields I scooped up a last minute single ticket to see them play Massey Hall in Toronto. They used the same backdrop at their Coachella gig which came into full form in the final few moments of the tune “Speaking in Rounds,” as it had in the Toronto gig a few months back.

Here’s a video of the unveiling of the gorgeous back drop and a bleed in to the tune “Sleeping Ute”:

While the set was certainly condensed, it didn’t feel as though it was. The band played all the hits I could have wanted to hear, with the exception of the gorgeous tune “All We Ask.”

I was also really surprised that the band closed with the slow burn, but still epic tune “Sun in Your Eyes.”

Leave a Reply

