New Release: Neko Case

Yet another album title with a mouthful of words The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You. Ooff… That was even a struggle to type!!

I’ve always associated Neko Case as a Canadian gem, however the reality is her hometown’s Tacoma, Washington. She waddled up north for her post-secondary education at Emily Carr University of Art in British Columbia. I’m not sure where she resides now!

I got a sneak preview of this album at her live gig at the Toronto Urban Roots Festival a few months back and I wasn’t feeling it as strongly as I do now! This album is glorious, it’s fierce, and has great energy! You can stream it here.

I’ve seen Case play a handful of times and it was only this time that I realized how weathered her appearance was. Perhaps, she was in between bright red hair dyes, I’m not sure… The woman’s 8 years from fifty, she looks damn good. So good that in April 2003, she was voted “Sexiest Babe of Indie Rock,” receiving 32% of the vote…. Not bad Neko!

nekoHere’s a great poem Case wrote for Poetry.

Leave a Reply

