Lena Dunham interviews Mindy Kaling

I’m feeling less enchanted with Mindy Kaling as I watch more of her TV show The Mindy Project. The truth is that I really detest her ditsy, absent-minded, selfish character on the show. I guess we had a lot riding on Kaling with the end of 30 Rock, placing a lot of responsibility on funny, female auteurs. I also feel as though Kaling’s stupid character on the show is the product of Mindy Kaling. Mindy Kaling’s character is a complete and utter idiot.

Don’t worry, Lena Dunham’s got Kaling’s back. The two girls sat down for Rookie Magazine to talk about life, being a woman in the industry and blah blah blah. It wasn’t a completely great interview, but I still feel the need to read things of women that, despite playing ridiculously “real” characters*, portray stupidity. I’m not so sure if they are “breaking the mold” much as they are perpetuating female stupidity. But the complete and utter truth is I love the following three female odd-balls and I really enjoy all of their television spots… I just struggle to identify with their characters for what they are being made out to be.

lenmind3

lenmind2A few healthy* observations:

lenamind
High fives for the Louis CK costume, Lena!

lenmind6lenadunmind

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did anyone else notice how both characters cut their locks at the end of their last seasons? Except Dunham actually cut her hair, whereas Mindy just wore a wig.

*sarcasm

Leave a Reply

