Today’s Fit: “Such Great Heights” by the Postal Service

I’ve been anxiously awaiting the release of the Starbucks compilation, titled Sweetheart, for a while now. I’m not one for the act of Valentine’s Day, but I love the idea of love songs that have been picked and revised by some of my favourite indie darlings. Somewhere throughout my first full listen, I felt inclined to listen to one of my favourite, unconventionally presented, love songs, “Such Great Heights” by the Postal Service.

Years ago, my friend Nicole referred to the tune as a love song and complained that she couldn’t understand why such a sweet song is presented in such a bubbly fashion. She felt the Iron & Wine version was more appropriate, which you may recognize from the Garden State soundtrack or an M&Ms commercial. I think Gibbard and Tamborello have done well with their bubbly love song.

Happy Sunday, y’all.

Leave a Reply

