Dumped by the Walkmen

I was promised by a dear pal that the Walkmen in the years to come will get back together. For now, in this very moment, they’re hanging up their hats indefinitely. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve seen them play, but I can recall three very gorgeous moments I’ve shared with the Walkmen:

1) September 10, 2008 at the Horseshoe Tavern, Toronto, ON. I didn’t know much of the band, but a friend had highly recommended the band to me. Between when my friend bought me a ticket and the concert, I became the band’s biggest fan. Weirdly, only the album You & Me, which was their 2008 release and purpose of the tour. For it’s gorgeous slow dance-esq, fifties inspired art work, You & Me remains one of my favourite album artwork… Ever.

wa

img_1073

 

 

 

 

 

 

The+Walkmen+-+In+The+New+Year+-+7'+RECORD-461587

 

 

 

2) May 27, 2012 at Sasquatch! Music Festival, George, WA. I feel ridiculously writing George, Washington, even though there is a comma. No one ever believes me when I say that Sasquatch! Music Festival is held at a place with such an absurd name. I keep reminiscing back to this gig because it was probably the best photo I captured of a band at the festival. The sun was shining, wind blowing, and the band was a bit grumpy, mainly the Peter Bauer, the band’s guitar player. Grumpiness aside, it was a glorious moment.

img_1073

 

 

3) January 16, 2013 at the Danforth Music Hall, Toronto, ON. I worked really hard to get a ticket to this gig. I managed to find a guy on Craigslist who had an extra ticket. Before meeting him, I grabbed a chicken souvlaki wrap and ate it as fast as I could before meeting my internet ticket provider. I met my friend Natalie and her friend James in time for the opener, Father John Misty, which I thoroughly enjoyed, despite Natalie and her friend’s hate for Josh Tillman’s new band. This was the first time I saw the Danforth Music Hall’s amazing new configuration without seats. I’m glad I made it to see a dear band play before they called it quits.

A goodbye snap from singer Hamilton Leithauser’s Twitter:

wa

 

One thought on “Dumped by the Walkmen

  1. Pingback: Gush: THE RETURN OF HAMILTON LEITHAUSER | for the trees

Leave a Reply

