Ani song six: “Crosses” by José González

There have been a few of the past five Ani songs I’ve posted that I know Ani actually liked. There are others that I’m not sure about, but they either remind me of him, or I just know he’d love.

I first got into González years ago after hearing his name somewhere and very often mixing him up with Canadian pianist Chilly Gonzales. I had even bought his 2007 album In Our Nature over the last two years while working at the Beat Goes On, a fifty off sale binge buy, I suspect. It wasn’t until watching Lucy Walker’s film The Crash Reel back in December 2013 that I felt the need to get my ears on González’s tunes, specially “Crosses” and “Down the Line.”

I’ve since realized that beyond owning In Our Nature, which has the tune “Down the Line” on it, I also own a CD with the tune “Crosses” on it. It’s however not the version I love most, but a later remix of it featured on the Zero 7 album The Garden, more funky, less soothing.

Weirdly enough, I actually prefer the Tiesto remix, as featured in The Crash Reel. There are all kinds of amazing version of the song that are floating around – just a really versatile, gorgeous tune. I’d love to walk you through some of them:

The original:

Tiesto:

Zero 7:

 

 

Leave a Reply

