Gush: Chris Owens

Five years ago I saw Girls play the El Mocambo. I didn’t see them play the Mod Club last week, but I have some friends that went, saw and spoke to Chris Owens, who now just goes by his name.

According to Owens, George Harrison’s amazing album All Things Must Pass served as his inspiration:

Q What was the catalyst for that type of life change?
A I went through a big personal change, which is kind of a personal topic, but I remember putting on All Things Must Pass on a day where I was pretty much spending the entire day in bed and I just started crying. The guy is an absolute genius in an all things to all people kind of way. It’s not a book learning genius, it’s just a simple, honest genius. I’d played that record a million times and dismissed it but I was a bit jaded, I guess. Now I’m a bit less jaded.

 

Leave a Reply

