Gush: She & Him ‘Classics’

She & Him have changed their sound. They’ve always had a bit of the flowery, fifties class that Volume One‘s “Sweet Darlin'” did so well. It’s good, but I think things sound best stripped down and Classics does no such thing as it’s packed with bells and tons of string arrangements (see cover of “Fools Rush In”).

Deschanel and Ward are certainly channeling a vintage sweet sound that would make the cast of Singin’ in the Rain proud, but I doubt it will get much attention from today’s music lovers.

Anyways, I know I talked it down, but you should probably give it a chance yourself.

And bask in the album’s gorgeous artwork, which I just know will be made of the same weird smelling paper as this album… And I’m totally stoked to get a copy in my paws!

classics classics2 classics3

Leave a Reply

