2015 2015 2015 2015 2015 2015 2015 2015 2015 2015

Best Albums (in order of release)

Father John Misty I Love You, Honeybear

Josh Tillman is a mega babe. His cool, careless persona is endless in his live act. I managed to only catch him once this year at Toronto festival, Field Trip. When this album was released, he teased us all with the slow burn tune, “Bored in the USA.” I’m glad the rest of the album stands up (and thankfully picks up) from the band’s initial tease.

Tobias Jesso Jr Goon

“How Could You, Babe?” was my draw to this album. It’s also what’s kept me listening to this album too. I was on top of Tobias Jesso Jr from the start of the year. His advertising prepped me to get excited for something from the past. I managed nab tickets for his very sweet (and very green) gig at the Drake Hotel.

Sufjan Stevens Carrie & Lowell

I like Sufjan slow. This album is beautiful.

Mikal Cronin MCIII

This album is a bit too polished, but I still dig it. Cronin can do no wrong for me.

Waxahatchee Ivy Trip

I spent most of the end of this year getting into rough sounding girl groups. Enter Waxahatchee – she ain’t pretty sounding, but she sure is fun.

Hop Along Painted Shut

So, I encourage you all to meet a dude in a bar in an American state and visit him a month later in another one. He showed me Hop Along and shortly after left my life. I’m happy to report that Hop Along’s still here.

Whitney Rose Heartbreaker of the Year

Rose is one class act. She’s an incredibly country star that I actually love. She’s my favourite go-to when I’m opening up the bar and feeling classy. Formerly a Toronto gal, Rose has settled in Austin, Texas and has recently been signed to Six Shooter Records. I cannot wait to see what this gal gets up to.

Alabama Shakes Sound & Color

Front person Brittney Howard is badass, but makes really pretty songs.

Patrick Watson Love Song for Robots

Grab some high-quality headphones and dive in. This album is perfection. I will argue to my dying day that it’s not prog rock.

Deerhunter Fading Frontier

A bit slow, but over all pleasant. Bradford Cox can do no wrong.

Beach Slang The Things We Do to Find People Who Feel Like Us

This album is fun. This band is fun. I caught these fellas live twice this year and managed to take a bunch of photos of them at one of the gigs. The second gig I could barely see them, but their sweet and naive stage presence compensated for the shitty sight lines. Front person James Alex is one of the most sincere and humble musicians in the business showing his gratitude and modesty by the second. At the Toronto gig guitarist, Ruben Gallego, acknowledge that one of his heroes is front Toronto excitedly disclosing that it was Kevin Drew (of Broken Social Scene). Little did Gallego know, Drew’s band member and  Broken Social Scene bassist Brendan Canning was in the house. Canning yelled “WHAT ABOUT HIS BANDMATES?!” I endlessly chuckled.

Julien Baker Sprained Ankle

This is probably the sweetest album of the year. Memphis, Tennessee pee wee, Julien Baker, is a little wonder. This album is full of emotion delivered in the most basic package… And that ain’t a bad thing.

Still need to listen to…

BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah Sour Soul
Screaming Females Rose Mountain
Kendrick Lamar To Pimp a Butterfly
Modest Mouse Strangers to Ourselves
Courtney Barnett Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit
Laura Marling Short Movie
Death Cab For Cutie Kintsugi
The Mountain Goats Beat the Champ
Calexico Edge of the Sun
Built to Spill Untethered Moon
Dustin Kensrue Carry the Fire
Great Lake Swimmers A Forest of Arms
My Morning Jacket The Waterfall
Best Coast California Nights
The Tallest Man on Earth Dark Bird Is Home
Unknown Mortal Orchestra Unknown Love
Jaime xx In Colour
Wolf Alice My Love Is Cool
Thunderbitch Thunderbitch
Wavves X Cloud Nothings No Life For Me
Wilco Star Wars
D’Angelo/The Vanguard Black Messiah
Iron & Wine X Ben Bridwell Sing Into My Mouth
MS MR How Does It Feel
Ratatat Magnifique
Tame Impala Currents
Titus Andronicus The Most Lamentable Tragedy
Lianne La Havas Blood
Mac DeMarco Another One
The Good Life Everybody’s Coming Down
Grace Potter Midnight
Beach House Depression Cherry
Beach House Thank Your Lucky Stars
Destroyer Poison Season
Foals What Went Down
Beirut No No No
Ben Folds So There
Graveyard Innocence & Decadence
Julia Holter Have You My Wilderness
Kurt Vile b’lieve I’m goin down…
Youth Lagoon Savage Hills Ballroom
John Grant Grey Tickles, Black Pleasure
Natalie Prass Natalie Prass
Sleater-Kinney No Cities to Love

 

Leave a Reply

