Milestone songs

My parents’ wedding song was the Turtles’ “Happy Together.” The Turtles’ Flo & Eddie are a bit of an odd-ball pick by any standards, but the sentiments are all there. One of my favourite mommy blogs, Cup of Jo, did a feature on First Dances.

I have to admit I have never given this thought. I’ve actually given more thought to my requiem than the song I celebrate a forever relationship to. Inspired by reading this article way back, I thought how fitting it would be to celebrate one’s life with the Zombies’ “This Will Be Our Year” (thanks, Zooey Deschanel!). Funny enough the very same Cup of Jo piece cited two Zombies tunes as wedding songs (including “This Will Be Our Year”). M Ward picked the more traditional, “Amazing Grace,” which if you can recall not-so-long ago Obama also chose to remember a lost life.

And who can forget this gem of a scene from everyone’s favourite film, Love Actually?

Or Six Feet Under‘s epic ending featuring Sia’s “Breathe Me” before she got noticed:

Here are a few more suggestions for funeral tunes compliments of Australian newspaper, the Australian, via Exclaim!

Leave a Reply

