Ty Segall five: Mikal Cronin

I drunkenly discovered Mikal Cronin (pronounced like Michael) at NXNE 2013. The guy played a three-night stand at tiny Toronto dive bar the Silver Dollar. The Silver Dollar is famously known for a dispute fellow garage rocker Jay Reatard and Toronto concert booker/promoter Dan Burke both lost their shit (see this). I wasn’t at that gig, but I remember hearing about it.

And while long-time bud Ty Segall was releasing 10 albums, Mikal (we’re on a first name basis) got a degree in music. The fella’s now got three solo albums out and he hasn’t even hit thirty years of age yet. Mikal has a cleaner sound than Ty, which drew me in faster and more immediately than Ty Segall. I however love that they work collaboratively and allow each other to do their own thing.

Mikal is touring with Ty’s band, the Muggers, this year. I’m over-the-moon excited to see them play Toronto in a few weeks. Here’s an awesome, George Harrison-sounding tune, “Get Along.” I think I prefer this version to the studio version:

 

Leave a Reply

