Gush: Lucy Dacus (over and over and over and over again)

When I was in high school, like most kids, I kept up an agenda. I’d tattoo lyrics of my favourite songs all over my planner. Transcribing lyrics as I heard them without using the internet or album linings.

Well, yesterday I found myself doing the very same thing. Less of an angst-filled time killing activity, but more of an attempt to interact with Lucy Dacus’ beautiful album on a deeper level. I can’t get over how incredible Dacus’ words are and jotting them all down made me appreciate them even more.

NPR’s All Songs Considered personality, Bob Boilen, called Lucy Dacus the best new artist that he discovered this year [2016]. This is more or less what Bob Boilen said of Dacus and gushed particularly hard the perfect seven and a half minute tune, “Map on a Wall.”

The opening act for Julien Baker. She’s an artist called Lucy Dacus she’s from Richmond, VA, not too far from Washington, DC. And I didn’t know her at all and was completely blown away by her music… I was going to play the seven and a half minute song from her album titled No Burden, which comes out at the end of February. But I am going to play the one without any question that will get the most airplay and is the most catchy, wonderful song. Not the one that takes you down windy wonderful paths and so forths. The song I’m going to play for you is called “I Don’t Wanna Be Funny Anymore”

 

This took me a while, but here is my probably far from perfect transcribed lyrics of “Map on a Wall”:

Oh please, don’t make fun of me. With my crooked smile and my crowded teeth or my pigeon feet or my knobby knees well I’ve got more problems than not. But I feel fine and I made up my mind. To live happily feeling beautiful beneath the trees above the ground solid at the core.

Oh please, don’t make fun of me. oh you know I get frightened so easily and I’m all alone and the floor board creek. It’s those noises int eh dark. But I am alive and I made up my mind. To live fearlessly, running wild beneath the trees above the ground solid at the core.

Send my regards to the north my friend. I am built for the heat I regret to admit. my fear of freezing keeps me on my feet and so far my whole life is an unlucky street, they say you should take the credit when it comes but i believe in XX?

oh please don’t make fun of me oh I’ll try my best to tell it like it is. But i’ll bite my tongue and i’ll close my lips. When nobody wants to be ___. But here we are and something about it doesn’t feel like an accident. We’re all looking for something to adore and how to survive the bending and breaking.

I walked on to the ___ I was a child. but when did I realize that some ways ___ passed thousands of miles there are people like me walking on legs like mine. Coming closer or farther away. Coming to me to find my grace (?) hoping good comes from good and the good comes from bad anyway.

Oh please don’t make fun of me. With my heart of gold and my restless soul. Oh please don’t make fun of me. This smile happens genuinely. If you want to see the world then you have to say goodbye. Because a map does no good hanging on a wall. If you want to see the world then you have to say goodbye. Cause a map does no good hanging on a wall.

Leave a Reply

